BOOK OF THE MONTH MAY 2017

Posted on

 

Chasing the Stars

CHASING THE STARS

What happens when love brings loss? When love brings lies? When love brings hate? Olivia and her twin brother Aidan are heading alone back to Earth  following the virus that wiped out the rest of their crew, and their family, in its entirety.  Nathan is part of a community heading in the opposite direction.  But on their journey, Nathan’s ship is attacked and most of the community killed. Only a few survive. Their lives unexpectedly collided, Nathan and Olivia are instantly attracted to each other, deeply, head-over-heels – like nothing they have ever experienced. But not everyone is pleased. Surrounded by rumours, deception, even murder, is it possible to live out a happy ever after . . . ?

LONGLISTED FOR THE GUARDIAN CHILDREN’S FICTION PRIZE, 2016

 

BOOK OF THE MONTH APRIL 2017

Posted on

Across-the-nightingale-floor-25gqb34

ACROSS THE NIGHTINGALE FLOOR

One boy. One journey. One hidden destiny.

An epic fantasy story set in a feudal Japanese society, this is an exciting tale of treason, violence and death. Tomasu is a young boy from the Hidden clan, all but wiped out by Iida Sadamu, the cruel Lord of the Tohan clan. Saved, then adopted, educated and renamed Takeo by the good-hearted Otori Shigeru, the boy grows up to love and respect his guardian. However, when Shigeru plans to marry, in order to promote peace between the two clans, Takeo has an opportunity to avenge himself on Iida. Takeo also has a special gift–inherited skills that mark him out as different from other men. He is at once desirable and highly dangerous to those in power. His life is soon in danger.

 

This is a taut, compelling love story, first in the trilogy TALES OF THE OTORI

March Book of the Month 2017

Posted on

THE BONE SPARROW by ZANA FRAILLONthe-bone-sparrow

Born in a refugee camp, all Subhi knows of the world is that he’s at least 19 fence diamonds high, the nice jackets never stay long, and at night he dreams that the sea finds its way to his tent, bringing with it unusual treasures. And one day it brings him Jimmie.

Carrying a notebook that she’s unable to read and wearing a sparrow made out of bone around her neck – both talismans of her family’s past and the mother she’s lost – Jimmie strikes up an unlikely friendship with Subhi beyond the fence.

As he reads aloud the tale of how Jimmie’s family came to be, both children discover the importance of their own stories in writing their futures.

Perfect for fans of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. This is a beautiful, vivid and deeply moving story about a refugee boy who has spent his entire life living in a detention centre. This novel reminds us all of the importance of freedom, hope, and the power of a story to speak for anyone who’s ever struggled to find a safe home.

 

HARRY POTTER BOOK NIGHT

Posted on

 

HARRY POTTER BOOK NIGHT 2017

ON February 2nd muggles and wizards invaded the Cloud in order to celebrate Harry Potter Night, along with many others around the country as part of a national event. The evening was hosted by Professor McGonagall, Tonks and Hagrid.

Much excitement was had over the sorting ceremony as each wizard put the sorting hat on to determine which house they were in. Once this was done, each house took part in a ‘Dress The Professor’ game, with a random box of props. The results were quite spectacular and included a ‘gender non-specific’ professor from Gryffindor. Next a treasure hunt took place with clues leading to students finding items such as a wand, toad and a Quidditch broom.

The last event was a bumper Harry Potter quiz which proved easy for our knowledgeable wizards.

Final scores added up meant Ravenclaw were the winners with 162 points. Prize for the best fancy dress went to Maria 7H who dressed as mini Hagrid.

Thanks to everyone for coming along and making it such a fun event.

Professor McGonagall

February Book of the Month

Posted on

one-memory-of-flora-banks

HOW DO YOU KNOW WHO TO TRUST WHEN YOU CAN’T EVEN TRUST YOURSELF?

 

I look at my hands. One of them says FLORA BE BRAVE.

Flora has anterograde amnesia. She can’t remember anything day-to-day: the joke her friend made, the instructions her parents gave her, how old she is.

Then she kisses someone she shouldn’t, and the next day she remembers it. It’s the first time she’s remembered anything since she was ten.

But the boy is gone. She thinks he’s moved to the Arctic.

Will following him be the key to unlocking her memory? Who can she trust?

January Book of the Month

Posted on

boy-in-tower

THE BOY IN THE TOWER – Polly Ho-Yen

When they first arrived, they came quietly and stealthily as if they tip-toed into the world when we were all looking the other way.

Ade loves living at the top of a tower block. From his window, he feels like he can see the whole world stretching out beneath him.

His mum doesn’t really like looking outside – but it’s going outside that she hates.
She’s happier sleeping all day inside their tower, where it’s safe.

But one day, other tower blocks on the estate start falling down around them and strange, menacing plants begin to appear. Now their tower isn’t safe anymore. Ade and his mum are trapped and there’s no way out . . .

Book of the Month: December 2016

Posted on

we-are-all-made-of-molecules

Meet Stewart. He’s geeky, gifted and sees things a bit differently to most people. His mum has died and he misses her all the more now he and Dad have moved in with Ashley and her mum. Meet Ashley. She’s popular, cool and sees things very differently to her new family. Her dad has come out and moved out – but not far enough. And now she has to live with a freakazoid step-brother. Stewart can’t quite fit in at his new school, and Ashley can’t quite get used to her totally awkward home, which is now filled with some rather questionable decor. And things are about to get a whole lot more mixed up when these two very different people attract the attention of school hunk Jared. . .